CRD Board Chair Announces New Committee & Chair Appointments

Jan 09, 2009

Victoria, BC – Capital Regional District Board Chair Geoff Young has announced the new makeup of Board Standing Committees. Board Standing Committees are made up of Chair-appointed Board members who advise the Board on specific issues and carry out the Board’s instructions.

The committee structure includes one significant change: the new Planning and Transportation Committee, the role of which will be to join regional planning and growth strategies management along with transportation priorities for the Region. Chair of the committee will be View Royal Mayor Graham Hill; Vice Chair will be Victoria Mayor Dean Fortin.

“I am hopeful that this change will assist in increasing the Region’s effectiveness in obtaining financial assistance from senior levels of government to build new and much needed transportation infrastructure.” said Young. “The committee’s job will be to renew the regional vision for growth while recognizing the aspirations of each area’s residents.”

Young has asked Saanich Councillor and former CRD Chair Judy Brownoff to Chair the Core Area Liquid Waste Management Committee as the CRD moves forward with planning for wastewater treatment facilities. Brownoff brings a strong focus on community engagement and consultation to the position. Vice Chair for the committee will be Esquimalt Mayor Barbara Desjardins.

Newly elected North Saanich Mayor Alice Finall will Chair the Environment Committee, with Saanich Councillor Vic Derman as Vice Chair. Finall brings experience in agriculture and food security issues, including time as co-organizer of the first North Saanich Farmer’s Market and Chair of the North Saanich Agricultural Advisory Committee.

Long time CRD Board Member John Ranns, Mayor of Metchosin, will Chair the expanded Finance, Corporate and Protective Services Committee; Vice Chair will be Saanich Mayor Frank Leonard.

Oak Bay Mayor and former CRD Board Chair Christopher Causton will continue to Chair the Regional Parks Committee; Sooke Mayor Janet Evans will be Vice Chair. Causton is strongly committed to the building of the E&N Rail Trails from Victoria To Langford.

The Round Table on the Environment Committee will be Chaired by Councillor Vic Derman of Saanich; Vice Chair will be Councillor Philippe Lucas of Victoria.

The Electoral Area Services Committee will be Chaired by Southern Gulf Island Electoral Area Director Ken Hancock; Vice Chair will be Juan de Fuca Electoral Area Mike Hicks.

“I am confident that the Board and Committee members will help the CRD embrace its responsibilities and move CRD projects forward.” said Young. “The CRD is well prepared for the challenges that lie ahead; I know these directors will do their best to ensure the environment, planning, infrastructure and the economics in our region continue to thrive.”

The first CRD Board meeting will take place on January 14 at 1:30pm. For a list of individual committee meetings, please consult the CRD Website.

- 30 -

For further information please contact:
Sheila Taylor, Manager, Community Relations
Corporate Communications, CRD
Tel: 250.360.3308
Cell: 250.216.4427