COVID-19 Information 

If you suspect you may be sick, please self-isolate and use BC’s online COVID-19 self-assessment tool. If you have non-medical questions, call the provincial number at 1.888.COVID19 or text 604.630.0300.

For more information on the whole community approach to immunizations in the electoral areas, please visit Island Health.

About the Southern Gulf Islands

The Southern Gulf Islands are a collection of mid-sized islands interspersed with numerous islets located just off the east coast of Vancouver Island. The Southern Gulf Islands of Galiano, Mayne, North and South Pender Islands, Saturna, Piers and associated islands make up an unincorporated rural Electoral Area under the jurisdiction of the Capital Regional District (CRD). The CRD serves as local government for electoral areas and most administrative functions are handled from the Victoria office.


Information on the services and administrative functions provided by the CRD on Southern Gulf Islands can be found on the following pages: 

Commissions and Committees

The CRD Board has established, by bylaw, a number of commissions to provide community input into the delivery of specific CRD services in each electoral area. The Board may also establish committees to provide advice and recommendations in relation to a CRD service or potential service.

Please visit the Board, Committees and Commissions section for appointments, agendas and minutes for the following commissions and committees.

Additional Information

Additional Information


david howe

Dave Howe is the Southern Gulf Islands Electoral Area Director and a locally elected representative on the CRD, CRHC and CRHD Boards. Director Howe’s career spans from 1969 to the present, giving him experience in financial planning, investments and hospitality.

Director Howe serves on various local commissions and was first elected as the Southern Gulf Islands Electoral Area Director in 2012.

Alternate Director

Paul Brent is the Alternate Director for the Southern Gulf Islands Electoral Area.

CRD Offices

Pender Island
Driftwood Centre
Contact Melody Pender

Mayne Island
424 Fernhill Road (at the ReMax Office)
Contact Kat Ferneyhough

Saturna Island
100 E. Point Rd (in the same building as the Saturna Pub)
Contact Katie Dentry

Galiano Island
23 Madrona Drive (in the Islands Trust Office)
Contact Emma Davis


Animal Control
1.800.655.7899 (toll-free)

Building Inspection Offices
Pender Island Office – 250.629.3424
Victoria – 1.866.475.1581 (toll-free)

Bylaw Enforcement
1.800.665.7899 (toll-free)

Water & Sewer
General – 1.800.663.4425
Emergencies – 1.855.822.4426