The Westside Wastewater and Resource Recovery Select Committee (Westside Select Committee) is an official sub-committee of the Capital Regional District. The participants (Colwood, Langford, View Royal, Esquimalt, Esquimalt Nation and Songhees Nation) have initiated the Westside Solutions project to engage citizens to working collectively to identify solutions for wastewater treatment and resource recovery that meet the unique needs of the Westside in a proactive and timely way.

The provincial and federal governments have mandated that wastewater must be treated in an environmentally responsible way. A westside solution could allow us to maximize the benefits and value for tax dollars to participating communities by identifying the unique needs of the westside and exploring alternate treatment technologies.

Critical to the success of this project is meaningful public engagement in developing the solution. To meet that objective the Westside Solutions Project will need to provide:

  • Clear and concise information regarding the issue and possible solutions and make it readily available to the public
  • Delivery of a thorough evaluation of net benefits, innovative and workable technologies for proposed treatment facility(s)
  • Meaningful engagement and consultation of Westside residents and businesses in option development
  • Delivery of an economically and environmentally viable solution for Westside wastewater treatment.

The Westside Select Committee reports to the Core Area Liquid Waste Management Committee (CALWMC) and is supported by CRD staff, Westside staff, consultants and a technical working group.

The following individuals have been identified as members of the Westside Select Committee:

  • City of Colwood Mayor Carol Hamilton (co-chair),
  • Township of Esquimalt Mayor Barbara Desjardins,
  • Town of View Royal Mayor David Screech,
  • City of Langford Mayor Stewart Young,
  • City of Langford Councillor Lanny Seaton,
  • Songhees Nation Chief Ron Sam.

The Westside Wastewater and Resource Recovery Select Committee documents including minutes can be found in the CRD's Document Library.