2024 Alternative Approval Process

2023 Salt Spring Island Local Community Commission Election

The 2023 Salt Spring Island Local Community Commission Election was held Saturday, May 27, 2023. The Capital Regional District conducted voting to elect four commissioners to the Local Community Commission.

2022 Local Government Elections

Each local government is responsible for running its own local elections and assent voting in compliance with legislation. The latest General Local Election occurred Saturday, October 15, 2022.

Every four years the Capital Regional District (CRD) conducts local general elections to elect a Director to represent each of our three Electoral Areas (Juan de Fuca, Salt Spring Island and Southern Gulf Islands). The CRD also conducts elections on behalf of the Islands Trust and school districts to elect local trustees. 

At any time, the CRD may also be conducting other voting, including Alternative Approval Process or Referendum. Information on these opportunities will be available here as they arise.

List of Electors, Elector Registration & Qualifications

The CRD maintains a list of Non-Resident Property Electors for the Juan de Fuca, Salt Spring Island and Southern Gulf Islands Electoral Areas. The Provincial Voters List is used for Resident Electors.

Other jurisdictions

For municipalities, each council appoints one or more elected official to the board. The formula is one director for every 25,000 population (or portion thereof). For electoral areas, citizens elect one director to the Board during general local elections. Check your local government website for information about elections in your municipality or area:

Elections BC is responsible for the administration of the campaign financing, disclosure and third-party advertising rules under the Local Elections Campaign Financing Act.

For more about the election process and legislation, visit www.gov.bc.ca/localelections

Additional Resources

General Enquiries