CRD_Administrative_Boundaries_425inch_2013  400x326

Encompassing 237,000 hectares, including 70 Gulf Islands, the capital region is a sought-after destination, renowned for its mild climate, beautiful coastlines and natural ecosystems.

The capital region offers a balance between rural and urban lifestyles, from the farming communities in North Saanich to the evergreen hills of Sooke, from the artisan networks on the Gulf Islands to the business hub of the City of Victoria, the province's capital.

It is home to the Canadian Pacific Naval Fleet and multiple world-class institutions, including Camosun College, Royal Roads University and the University of Victoria.

Tourism, technology, health care and government services are key industries in the region, a place where residents and tourists can enjoy the Pacific Ocean, old growth rainforests, outdoor adventure, world-class culinary experiences and a vibrant arts and culture scene.

The traditional territories of 22 First Nations span portions of the region, and 11 of those Nations hold reserve lands throughout the capital region.

The Capital Regional District works with others to operate, deliver and manage services to ensure our region is sustainable, livable and vibrant for our 383,000 residents.


(These links will take you to the municipality's own website.)

Central Saanich | Colwood | Esquimalt | Highlands | Langford | Metchosin | North Saanich | Oak Bay | Saanich | Sidney | Sooke | Victoria | View Royal

Electoral Areas

Juan de Fuca | Southern Gulf Islands | Salt Spring Island