The CRD acknowledges and respects that its jurisdictional boundaries span the territories of the Coast Salish and Nuu-chah-nulth peoples. On the Peninsula, the W̱SÁNEĆ peoples known today as W̱JOȽEȽP (Tsartlip), BOḰEĆEN (Pauquachin), SȾÁUTW̱ (Tsawout), W̱SIKEM (Tseycum) and MÁLEXEȽ (Malahat); in the core area, the Lekwungen people known today as Esquimalt and Songhees Nations; and to the west, Sc'ianew (Beecher Bay), T’So-uke and Pacheedaht First Nations There are many other First Nations who also have ties to this region stretching back long before the European settlers arrived: Stz’uminus (Chemainus), Quw’utsun (Cowichan), Halalt, Lake Cowichan, Lyackson, Pune’laxutth’ (Penelakut), Tsawassen, and SEMYOME (Semiahmoo).