CRD Traffic Safety Commission Awards Fifth Annual Cst. Sarah Beckett Memorial Scholarship

Oct 21, 2021

Victoria, BC– The Capital Regional District (CRD) Traffic Safety Commission has given two Camosun College students scholarships. Monica Amos received the fifth annual $2,000 Cst. Sarah Beckett Memorial Scholarship. Bryce Schiebel received a $1,800 scholarship from the Vancouver Island Slain Police Officers Fund and Deputy Commissioner Jennifer Strachan Retirement Donation.

“These students are dedicated to building their careers in service to the well-being of our communities, and overcoming many life challenges, their determination to succeed in their careers is inspiring. We are happy to be able to help them continue on their learning paths and wish them much success,” said Fred Haynes, Chair of the Traffic Safety Commission. “Through this support, we hope that the memory of Sarah Beckett’s dedication and sacrifice lives on in our communities.”

This is the fifth year the CRD Traffic Safety Commission has awarded the Cst. Sarah Beckett Memorial Scholarship to a student living in the capital region who demonstrate academic achievement, financial need, community service, and an expressed interest in pursuing a career in law enforcement. Thanks to additional donated funds through the Vancouver Island Slain Police Officers Fund and Deputy Commissioner Jennifer Strachan Retirement Donation, the TSC has been able to provide a second scholarship when there is an additional outstanding applicant.

In 2016, Cst. Sarah Beckett lost her life in the line of duty from a tragic automobile crash. Subsequently, the CRD Traffic Safety Commission created the scholarship to elevate awareness of traffic safety issues and the community service provided by police. The CRD Traffic Safety Commission is responsible for traffic safety education programs and makes recommendations to the CRD Board to increase road safety in the region.

For more information about the Commission, please visit

The Traffic Safety Commission reviews traffic safety in the capital region and makes recommendations through a committee to the CRD Board to help reduce or eliminate problems. The Commission also plans and carries out traffic safety education programs as provided for in the annual budget and approved by the CRD Board.

Proud to be recognized as one of BC’s Top Employers and Canada’s Greenest Employers, the CRD delivers regional, sub-regional and local services to 13 municipalities and three electoral areas on southern Vancouver Island and the Gulf Islands. Governed by a 24-member Board of Directors, the CRD works collaboratively with First Nations and all levels of government to enable sustainable growth, foster community well-being, and develop cost-effective infrastructure while continuing to provide core services to residents throughout the region. Visit us online at



For media inquiries, please contact:
Andy Orr, Senior Manager
CRD Corporate Communications
Tel: 250.360.3229
Cell: 250.216.5492

Photo Caption: Scholarship recipients Bryce Schiebel and Monica Amos with Saanich Mayor and Chair of the Traffic Safety Commission Fred Haynes.

  • 2021-10-21-Bryce-Schiebel-Monica-Amos-Fred-Haynes
    Click to view full size image