about-reccomm-goose-tallThe Sooke and Electoral Area Parks and Recreation Commission (SEAPARC) creates recreational opportunities for the public through development, provision and operation of the recreational facilities, programs and activities. SEAPARC is a partnership of the municipality of Sooke and western communities in the JDF Electoral Area (Port Renfrew, Otter Point, Shirley, Jordan River and East Sooke). The commission serves the residents of these areas. Funding for the commission comes from property taxes and user fees. The commission's main facility and service location is the CRD's SEAPARC Leisure Complex. Facilities include a three pool aquatic centre, ice rink, weight room, fitness studio, multi-purpose room, boardroom, sports field, bike park, skate park and golf course.

Commission Activities

The commission administrates services at the SEAPARC Leisure Complex and recreation programs for the District of Sooke and the western portion of the Juan de Fuca Electoral Area. The Commission oversees an administrator and staff, who are CRD employees. The Commission also prepares an annual budget and makes recommendations on operating policy, regulations and fees to the CRD board.


The CRD has requested that Commission meetings be suspended after March 18 until further notice, with essential items going directly to the CRD Board. The Commission will meet only to consider essential business.

Regular meetings of the Commission take place at SEAPARC and are open to the public. Meetings are also held at the call of the Chair. Agendas and Minutes are posted for each meeting. Regular meetings are scheduled on the third Tuesday of each month at 6pm in the SEAPARC Leisure Complex Board Room (effective February, 2020).

2020 Meeting Schedule (subject to change):

  • January 23
  • February 18
  • March 17 - 2pm Special Meeting
  • April 14 - 1pm Special Meeting
  • April 21 - April 24 at 1:30pm
  • May 19 - Cancelled
  • June 16 - June 12 at 1pm
  • July 28 - 5pm
  • August 18 - Call of the Chair
  • September 15
  • October 13 at 3pm at Juan de Fuca Local Area Services Building, #3 – 7450 Butler Road, Otter Point, BC
  • November 10 - Cancelled
  • December 8 - Cancelled

Commission Members

The commission is comprised of elected and appointed representation from the areas of Port Renfrew, Otter Point, Shirley, Jordan River and East Sooke, as well as the Municipality of Sooke, the JDF Electoral Area Director and a Sooke Municipality Director. One council member is from the District of Sooke, two community members are appointed by the District of Sooke and one community member is appointed by the CRD Board as nominated by the Juan de Fuca Electoral Area Director. There is also one youth member who is registered in the secondary school program of Sooke School District 62 and is a resident of Juan de Fuca Electoral Area or the District of Sooke.

District of Sooke

  • Maja Tait, Regional Director & Mayor, District of Sooke
  • Al Beddows, Councillor, District of Sooke (Chair)
  • Dal Little, District of Sooke
  • Jim Perkins, District of Sooke (Vice-Chair)

Juan de Fuca Electoral Area

  • Mike Hicks, Regional Director, Juan de Fuca Electoral Area
  • Derek Bishop, Juan de Fuca Electoral Area

Youth Member

  • Johnson, Holly

Address the Commission

The Commission welcomes the chance for a delegation or individual to address the meeting provided written application has been received not less than two (2) calendar days prior to the regularly scheduled meeting.

Contact Us

Any inquiries or correspondence for the Commissioners can be addressed to:

Sooke, BC V9Z 1H4
Tel: 250.642.8000

Meeting Dates and times are subject to change.