The RGS and Local Governments

Local governments and the CRD develop the RGS in partnership. All affected local governments must agree to the document before the CRD Board can adopt the Strategy as a bylaw. Within two years of becoming a bylaw, each municipality must submit a Regional Context Statement to the CRD Board describing how their Official Community Plan aligns with the Strategy. The CRD Board has accepted Regional Context Statements for all municipalities in relation to the 2003 RGS.

In the case of the Juan de Fuca Electoral Area, all official community plans must be consistent with the Strategy.

The RGS applies to the following local governments:

Central Saanich | Colwood | Esquimalt | Highlands | Langford | Metchosin | North Saanich | Oak Bay | Saanich | Sidney | Sooke | Victoria | View Royal | Juan de Fuca Electoral Area

Salt Spring Island and the Southern Gulf Islands, though part of the CRD, are excluded from the bylaw as they are part of the Islands Trust land management area.