

Executive Office 625 Fisgard Street, PO Box 1000 Victoria, BC V8W 2S6 P: 250.360.3125 F: 250.360.3130 www.crd.bc.ca

June 26, 2020

File: 0550-20

The Right Honourable Justin Trudeau, P.C., M.P. Office of the Prime Minister 80 Wellington Street Ottawa, ON K1A 0A2 *Via email: pm@pm.gc.ca* 

The Honourable Catherine McKenna Minister of Infrastructure and Communities Suite 1100 – 180 Kent Street Ottawa, ON K1P 0B6 *Via email: infc.minister-ministre.infc@canada.ca*  The Honourable John Horgan, M.L.A. Premier of British Columbia PO Box 9041 STN PROV GOVT Victoria, BC V8W 9E1 *Via email: <u>premier@gov.bc.ca</u>* 

The Honourable Marc Garneau Minister of Transport House of Commons Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0A6 *Via email: <u>marc.garneau@parl.gc.ca</u>* 

## **RE: INCREASING TRANSIT SERVICE IN THE CAPITAL REGION**

The Capital Regional District is governed by a 24 member Board of locally elected representatives from 13 municipalities and three electoral areas with a mandate to deliver regional, sub-regional and local services to more than 418,000 residents on southern Vancouver Island and the Gulf Islands.

Public transportation, including transit service delivered through BC Transit, is critically important to the region and on June 24, 2020 the Capital Regional District Board passed a resolution that I write to you as Chair of the Board to request new investments and reliable annual funding to support increased public transportation in the Capital Region, reduce financial barriers to access, and promote economic recovery that is consistent with local, provincial and federal climate change commitments.

Sincerely,

Colin Plant Chair, Capital Regional District Board

cc: CRD Board

Robert Lapham, Chief Administrative Officer, CRD Andrew Scheer, MLA, Leader of the Official Opposition of Canada Jagmeet Singh, MLA, Leader of the New Democratic Party of Canada Adam Olsen, MLA, Leader of the Third Party of British Columbia Honourable Lana Popham, MLA Saanich South Honourable Carole James, MLA Victoria-Beacon Hill Honourable Rob Fleming, MLA Victoria-Swan Lake Mitzi Dean, MLA Esquimalt-Metchosin Dr. Andrew Weaver, MLA Oak Bay-Gordon Head Laurel Collins, MP Victoria Randall Garrison, MP Esquimalt – Saanich - Sooke Alistair MacGregor, MP Cowichan – Malahat - Langford Elizabeth May, MP Saanich – Gulf Islands Susan Brice, Chair, Victoria Regional Transit Commission