

Executive Services 625 Fisgard Street, PO Box 1000 Victoria, BC V8W 2S6 T: 250.360.3125 F: 250.360.3076 www.crd.bc.ca

March 14, 2019

File: 0400-20

The Honourable John Horgan M.L.A. Langford-Juan de Fuca Premier of British Columbia PO Box 9041 STN PROV GOVT Victoria BC V8W 9E1

Via email: premier@gov.bc.ca

Dear Premier:

RE: PROTECTION OF GREATER VICTORIA WATER SUPPLY AREA

I am writing on behalf of the Capital Regional District (CRD) Board further to a March 13, 2019 Resolution to advise the Provincial government that the CRD Board has no interest in pursuing highway infrastructure development in the Greater Victoria Water Supply Area or the Drinking Water Protection Zone.

Since the Provincial government announced plans to explore construction of an alternate highway route to the Trans-Canada Highway within or in the vicinity of the Sooke Hills Wilderness Regional Park there has been concern expressed by residents particularly as it relates to any potential impacts to the water supply.

On February 26, 2019 I wrote to the Honourable Claire Trevena conveying the CRD's interest in actively participating in the development of the South Island Transportation Strategy and we remain committed participating and sharing transportation data/reports and staff expertise. We also continue to support staff participation on the Malahat Emergency Detour Route Planning Working Group.

Sincerely,

Colin Plant

Chair, Capital Regional District Board

cc: Honourable George Heyman, Minister of Environment & Climate Change Strategy

Honourable Claire Trevena, Minister of Transportation & Infrastructure

Honourable Scott Fraser, MLA Mid Island-Pacific Rim

Honourable Lana Popham, MLA Saanich South

Honourable Carole James, MLA Victoria-Beacon Hill

Honourable Rob Fleming, MLA Victoria-Swan Lake

Ronna-Rae Leonard, MLA Courtenay-Comox

Sonia Furstenau, MLA Cowichan Valley

Mitzi Dean, MLA Esquimalt-Metchosin

Sheila Malcolmson, MLA Nanaimo

Doug Routley, MLA Nanaimo-North Cowichan

Dr. Andrew Weaver, MLA Oak Bay-Gordon Head

Michelle Stilwell, MLA Parksville-Qualicum

Adam Olsen, MLA Saanich North and the Islands

CRD Board

Robert Lapham, Chief Administrative Officer, CRD