

Minutes of a Meeting of the Skana Water Service Committee Held Monday, October 16, 2017 in the Main Conference Room, 479 Island Highway, Victoria, BC

PRESENT: Committee Members: J. Sanders (C), G. Fryling, R. Johnston, R. Hagkull

Staff: M. McCrank, Senior Manager, Infrastructure Operations; I. Jesney, Senior Manager, Infrastructure Engineering, D. Robson, Manager, Saanich Peninsula and Gulf Islands Operations, K. Jo, Financial Analyst, L. Siemens (recorder)

ABSENT: Director D. Howe

The meeting was called to order at 10 a.m.

1. Approval of Agenda

MOVED by G. Fryling, **SECONDED** by R. Johnston, That the agenda be approved as distributed.

CARRIED

2. Election of Chair

Nominations were called for Chair of the Skana Water Service Committee for a one-year term. Jon Sanders was nominated and agreed to stand. Nominations were called for two additional times, and hearing none, Jon Sanders was elected as Chair.

3. Adoption of Minutes of September 29, 2016

MOVED by G. Fryling, **SECONDED** by R. Johnston, That the minutes of September 29, 2016 be adopted as previously distributed.

CARRIED

4. 2018 Operating and Capital Budget

M. McCrank presented a written report and the 2018 Operating and Capital Budget documents.

R. Hagkull joined the meeting at 10:35 a.m.

MOVED by J. Sanders, **SECONDED** by R. Johnston,

- That the Skana Water Service Committee approve the 2018 operating and capital budget as presented, and that the 2017 actual surplus or deficit be balanced on the 2017 transfer to the capital reserve fund; and
- 2. That the Skana Water Service Committee recommend that the Electoral Area Services Committee recommend that the CRD Board approve the 2018 Operating and Capital Budget and the Five-Year Financial Plan for the Skana Water Service as presented.

CARRIED

5. New Business

M. McCrank updated the committee on the progress of the Juan de Fuca Billing Software Enhancement Project.

6. Adjournment

MOVED by J. Sanders, **SECONDED** by R. Johnston, That the meeting be adjourned at 10:51 a.m.

CARRIE	D

CHAIR	SECRETARY