

Minutes of the 2019 FY Annual General Meeting - Beddis Water Service Commission Held December 3, 2020 at the Creekside Meeting Room, #108 121 McPhillips Ave Salt Spring Island, BC

 Present:
 Director: Gary Holman

 Commission Members:
 Laurie Jacques, Geoff Bartol, Michael McCormick

 Staff:
 Karla Campbell, Senior Manager SSI Electoral Area; Lia Xu, Manager,

 Finance
 Services; Dan Robson, Manager, Saanich Peninsula and Gulf Islands

 Operations;
 Allen Xu, Manager Engineering; Tracey Shaver, Recording

 Secretary
 Absent:
 Ruth Waldick

 Participants:
 Simon Wheeler

VIRTUAL MEETING via Microsoft Teams

1. Territorial Acknowledgement / Call Meeting to Order

Meeting was called to order at 9:01 am.

2. Approval of Agenda

MOVED by Commissioner Jacques, **SECONDED** by Director Holman, That the Beddis Water Service Commission agenda of the Annual General Meeting held on December 3, 2020 be approved as presented.

CARRIED

3. Adoption of Minutes of the 2018 Annual General Meeting held on April 15, 2019

MOVED by Commissioner Bartol, **SECONDED** by Commissioner Jacques, That the Beddis Water Service Commission meeting minutes of the Fiscal Year 2018 Annual General Meeting held on April 15, 2019 be approved.

CARRIED

4. Chair's Report – no report

5. Report

5.1 Annual Report for 2019 Fiscal Year

- Issues causing manual operations of the Lautman Pump Station and Skyvalley Reservoir were fixed in 2020
- Intake assessment and design mostly complete with construction in 2021.
- Asset management plans completed in 2020.
- Safe Work Procedures started in 2020; completed by third party consultant to improve safety and meet current operating standards. Hazard items such as confined space and fall prevention to be addressed. Commission requested to review safety report.

• Attached financial statements are a standard format and prepared using general and public sector accounting with an annual audit by KPMG. Further information can be found on CRD website.

6. Election of Officers

Informed that Ruth Waldick has resigned after seven years of volunteering. Commission wished to thank Ruth for her efforts and contributions.

Call for nominations to be appointed for terms beginning in 2021.

Geoff Bartol and Michael McCormick agreed to stand for election. Hearing of no other nominations both were accepted by acclamation.

7. New Business - none

8. Adjournment

MOVED by Commissioner Jacques, **SECONDED** by Director Holman, That the meeting be adjourned at 9:28 am.

CARRIED

CHAIR

SENIOR MANAGER