

BYLAW NO. 3520

TRAFFIC SAFETY COMMISSION BYLAW NO. 1, 2008

Consolidated for Public Convenience (This bylaw is for reference purposes only)

ORIGINALLY ADOPTED MAY 14, 2008 (Consolidated with Amending Bylaws 3593, 3886, 4057, 4134, 4209)

CAPITAL REGIONAL DISTRICT BYLAW NO. 3520

A BYLAW FOR THE CONTINUATION OF A TRAFFIC SAFETY COMMISSION

WHEREAS:

- A. By Bylaw No. 1718, cited as "Traffic Safety Commission Bylaw No. 1, 1989" the Board of the Capital Regional District deemed it desirable to create a Commission for the purpose of reviewing traffic safety problems in the Capital Regional District and to make recommendations to the Board for the purpose of reducing or eliminating same;
- B. By Order in Council No. 285 approved and ordered February 22, 1990, the Capital Regional District was granted the additional power to establish and operate a Traffic Safety Commission as an Extended Service;
- C. By Bylaw No. 1828 cited as "Traffic Safety Commission Establishment Bylaw No. 1, 1990" the service to operate a Traffic Safety Commission was established;
- D. The Capital Regional District under Section 176(1)(g) of the *Local Government Act* is authorized to establish a Commission and to delegate to the Commission any or all of the administrative powers of the Regional Board.

NOW THEREFORE, the Board of the Capital Regional District, in open meeting assembled, enacts as follows:

1. Definitions

In this bylaw unless the context otherwise requires:

"BUDGET" means the 5-year financial plan (operating and capital):

"COMMISSION" means the Traffic Safety Commission;

"DIRECTOR" means a Director of the Regional Board;

"REGIONAL BOARD" means the Capital Regional District Board;

"REGIONAL DISTRICT" means the Capital Regional District (CRD);

"SERVICE AREA" means the Electoral Areas of Juan de Fuca, Salt Spring Island and Southern Gulf Islands and the Municipalities of Sidney, Saanich, Victoria, Oak Bay, Esquimalt, Central Saanich, Sooke, Langford and Highlands as more particularly described in Bylaw No. 1828, as amended.

2. Membership

A traffic safety Commission established by Capital Regional District Bylaws No. 1718 and 1982 is hereby continued and known as the "Traffic Safety Commission and shall consist of eighteen (18) members as follows:

- (a) One Director of the Regional Board and one alternate Director;
- (b) Eighteen members, including one (unless otherwise specified) from each group representing the medical community, community health, police, business, university research, traffic engineering sectors, community programs, managers and traffic safety education and more specifically represented by the following:
 - 1. ICBC Road Safety Division
 - 2. BCAA Community Impact
 - 3. Integrated Road Safety Unit
 - 4. Youth and Society Research Unit, University of Victoria
 - 5. Traffic Planning Sector
 - 6. Prevention Services, Vancouver Island Health Authority
 - 7. Medical Health Officer, Vancouver Island Health Authority
 - 8. Office of the Coroner
 - 9. BC Ambulance Services
 - 10. School Districts
 - 11. Media (2 representatives)
 - 12. Vancouver Island Safety Council
 - 13. Road Safety BC
 - 14. University of Victoria's Centre on Aging
 - 15. Commercial Vehicle Safety and Enforcement, Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure
 - 16. A civilian with related experience
 - 17. Greater Victoria Cycling Coalition
 - 18. Walk On Victoria"

(Bylaw 4209)

3. Term of Office

The term of office for a member of the Commission, other than the Director appointed by the Regional Board, is as follows:

- (a) The term of office for all appointments after the initial appointment will be for a twoyear period commencing the first day of January following each such appointment or until their successors are appointed.
- (b) The term of a Director of the Regional Board holding office as a member of the Commission on the date of adoption of this bylaw will end on the 31st of December, 2016.
- (c) A Director of the Regional Board appointed to the Commission shall hold office for a two-year term, commencing the first day of January and ending the 31st day of December of the second year of the term.

(Bylaw 4134)

(d) Section 3(c) is in effect for Directors appointed for a term starting on or after January 1, 2017.

(Bylaw 4134)

4. Appointment

- (a) The Commission shall contact appropriate organizations directly for interested parties wishing to become Commission members.
- (b) Nominations for appointments to the Commission will be forwarded to the Director by each of the organizations referred to in section 2. (b) and the Director will forward them to the Regional Board.
- (c) Before the first of January every year, the Regional Board shall appoint or reappoint members to the Commission to fill the terms of office of the members whose term expire as of the 31st of December in each year.
- (d) In the event of the death, transfer, resignation or disqualification of a member of the Commission, the Board of the Regional District shall appoint a successor for the remainder of such member's term.
- (e) A member who fails to attend three (3) consecutive regular meetings without permission of the Commission may have their appointment to the Commission terminated.
- (f) A member of the Commission may be appointed for more than one (1) term.

5. Commission Procedure

- (a) The Commission must, at its first meeting in January of each year, by secret ballot, elect a Chair and Vice Chair from among its members.
- (b) For the conduct of business each member of the Commission shall have one vote.
- (c) The rules and procedures which govern the Regional Board shall apply to the Commission where applicable.
- (d) Meetings are open to the public.
- (e) A quorum of the Commission is a majority of the members.
- (f) Minutes of all Commission proceedings shall be maintained in accordance with the Capital Regional District Procedural Bylaw No. 1, 2004.
- (g) The rules of procurement for the Commission shall be consistent with those of the Capital Regional District.

6. <u>Duties</u>

The Regional Board hereby delegates to the Commission the duty to advise the Director and the Regional Board with respect to recommendations for the purpose of reducing or eliminating traffic safety problems.

7. Budget

The Commission shall, on or before the 10th day of September in each year, prepare 5-year operating budgets covering all anticipated costs of the operation of the Commission together with any estimates of expected revenues.

The budget shall:

- (a) be in a form approved by the Financial Officer of the Regional District;
- (b) be submitted for consideration of the Regional Board;
- (c) if requested by the Regional Board, be altered to the satisfaction of the Board, and the same be resubmitted not later than October 15th of that year; and
- (d) At no time provide for the creation of debt.

8. Reporting

The Commission shall, by November 30th in each year, submit a written report to the Board of the Regional District outlining the operating results of the Traffic Safety Commission for that calendar year.

9. Repeal:

Bylaw No. 1718 cited as "Traffic Safety Commission Bylaw No. 1, 1989", and any amendments thereto, are repealed upon adoption of this bylaw.

10. Citation:

This bylaw may be cited as "Traffic Safety Commission Bylaw No.1, 2008, Amendment Bylaw No. 4, 2016".

CHAIR			SECRETARY	
Original signed by Denise Blackwell			Original signed by Carmen Thiel	
ADOPTED THIS	14 th	DAY OF	May	2008.
READ A THIRD TIME THIS	14 th	DAY OF	May	2008.
READ A SECOND TIME THIS	14 th	DAY OF	May	2008.
READ A FIRST TIME THIS	14 th	DAY OF	May	2008.