1.913 Emergency Response - Fire Dispatch

The CRD provides Emergency Fire Dispatch for the three CRD electoral areas: Juan de Fuca, Salt Spring Island, and the Southern Gulf Islands, and four  municipalities: Highlands, Langford, Metchosin, and Sooke. The service operates out of Langford Fire Hall #1 utilizing contracted Langford Fire Department staff. Back-up services for the fire dispatch are provided through the BCAS dispatch centre in Langford.


On October 29, 1987, the Province of BC granted the CRD the function to operate and maintain an Emergency Response Telephone Service (911). As part of the implementation of the service, the CRD contracted with a local fire department to provide Emergency Communications Dispatch (fire call relaying) for the fire departments within the RCMP service area. In 2011, the electoral area fire departments desired an enhanced level of service and the electoral area directors, partnering with four CRD municipalities, requested the Board to establish a new enhanced service of fire communication dispatch services. In December 2012, the CRD Board adopted By Law No 3854, Emergency Communication Dispatch Service Establishment Bylaw No. 1, 2012. In January 2013, the CRD and the City of Langford signed an Agreement for Emergency Response for Langford to provide Emergency Communications Dispatch (fire) service to the CRD participants in Bylaw 3854. The service continues to be authorized and administered under CRD Bylaw No 3854.


A 911 Fire Dispatch Working Group provides recommendations and input into operations, technology and training. The service is operated by the City of Langford's Fire Department under an operating agreement with the CRD. The service oversite and operational effectiveness review is provided by the CRD Planning and Protective Services Department.


The budget for this service is established through an annual CRD Financial Planning process, and is funded by an annual property value tax levied within the three CRD Electoral Areas, and the municipalities of: Highlands, Langford, Metchosin, and Sooke.