Capital Regional District and Hospital District Announce 2017 Board Chairs

Nov 09, 2016

Victoria, BC– Robert Lapham, Capital Regional District (CRD) Chief Administrative Officer, is pleased to announce the 2017 CRD Chair and Vice-Chair, the Capital Regional Hospital District (CRHD) Chair and Vice-Chair and the membership of the Boards.

Historically held in December, the inaugural meeting date changed to coincide with the four-year election cycle for municipal governments by the amended Local Government Act.

CRD Director and Mayor of Esquimalt Barbara Desjardins has been re-elected for a second year as the 2017 CRD Board Chair and CRHD Vice-Chair. Director Desjardins has served on the CRD Board since 2009. She was first elected Esquimalt Mayor in 2008 and is the former Chair of the CRD Environmental Services Committee, CRD Planning, Transportation and Protective Services Committee, CRD Transportation Select Committee and the CRD Westside Wastewater Treatment and Resource Recovery Select Committee.

Southern Gulf Islands Electoral Area Director David Howe has been re-elected for a third year as the 2017 CRD Board Vice-Chair. Director Howe was first elected to the CRD Board in 2012 and is the area's representative on various CRD commissions.

Director Marianne Alto has been elected for the first time as the 2017 CRHD Chair. She was elected to the City of Victoria Council in 2010 and to the CRD Board in 2011. She has provided leadership for the CRD’s First Nations Task Force and serves as a member of various CRD committees.

The CRD and CRHD Boards share the same directors and officers. A corporation of the CRD, the Capital Regional Hospital District partners with Island Health and community stakeholder agencies to develop and improve healthcare facilities in the region, including replacing buildings that have reached the end of their economic and functional life.

In accordance with Provincial legislation, representation on the CRD and CRHD Boards balances varying population bases with community interests. Each local government receives one vote for every 5,000 people and receives one director for every 25,000 people.

Name, Title Municipality or Electoral Area Role Assigned Votes
Barbara Desjardins, Mayor Esquimalt CRD Chair, CRHD Vice-Chair 4
David Howe, Director Southern Gulf Islands Electoral Area CRD Vice-Chair 2
Marianne Alto, Councillor Victoria CRHD Chair 4
Richard Atwell, Mayor Saanich Director 5
Denise Blackwell, Councillor Langford Director 3
Susan Brice, Councillor Saanich Director 5
Judy Brownoff, Councillor Saanich Director 4
Vic Derman, Councillor Saanich Director 4
Alice Finall, Mayor North Saanich Director 3
Carol Hamilton, Mayor Colwood Director 4
Lisa Helps, Mayor Victoria Director 5
Mike Hicks, Director Juan de Fuca Electoral Area Director 2
Ben Isitt, Councillor Victoria Director 4
Nils Jensen, Mayor Oak Bay Director 4
Wayne McIntyre, Director Salt Spring Island Electoral Area Director 3
Colin Plant, Councillor Saanich Director 4
Steve Price, Mayor Sidney Director 3
John Ranns, Mayor Metchosin Director 1
David Screech, Mayor View Royal Director 2
Lanny Seaton, Councillor Langford Director 3
Maja Tait, Mayor Sooke Director 3
Ken Williams, Mayor Highlands Director 1
Ryan Windsor, Mayor Central Saanich Director 4
Geoff Young, Councillor Victoria Director 4


The next meeting of the CRD Board will take place on December 14, 2016 at 1:30pm. In the coming weeks, Chair Desjardins will be working with the CRD Directors to gain insight into their areas of interest for the coming year. Work will also commence on establishing standing committees and formalizing committee structures, including appointing committee Chairs and Vice-Chairs, which will be announced on or before the December 14 CRD Board meeting.

In 2016, the CRD Board continued to make progress on the 2015-2018 CRD strategic priorities which outline the direction and priorities of the CRD Board. The corporate plan, multi-year service plans and priorities dashboard, which provides a progress report on how the CRD is delivering on activities laid out in the corporate plan, can be found at

As the CRD wraps up its 50th anniversary year, the organization’s focus going into 2017 will be on enabling sustainable growth, enhancing community well-being, and developing cost-effective infrastructure while continuing to provide core services throughout the region.

Celebrating 50 years! The CRD delivers regional, sub-regional and local services to 13 municipalities and three electoral areas on southern Vancouver Island and the Gulf Islands. Governed by a 24 member Board of Directors, the CRD works collaboratively with First Nations and all levels of government to enable sustainable growth, enhance community well-being, and develop cost-effective infrastructure while continuing to provide core services to residents throughout the region.


For media inquiries, please contact:
Andy Orr, Senior Manager
CRD Corporate Communications
Tel: 250.360.3229 Cell: 250.216.5492