Capital Regional District Announces 2016 Board Chair

Dec 09, 2015

Victoria, BC– Robert Lapham, Capital Regional District (CRD) Chief Administrative Officer is pleased to announce the 2016 Board of Directors. At their inaugural meeting today, the CRD Board elected their Chair and Vice-Chair.

Esquimalt Mayor Barbara Desjardins has been elected as the 2016 CRD Board Chair. Mayor Desjardins has served on the CRD Board since 2009. She was first elected Esquimalt Mayor in 2008 and is the former Chair of the CRD Environmental Services Committee, CRD Planning, Transportation and Protective Services Committee, CRD Transportation Select Committee and the CRD Westside Wastewater Treatment and Resource Recovery Select Committee.    

Southern Gulf Islands Electoral Area Director David Howe has been re-elected as the 2016 CRD Board Vice-Chair. Director Howe was first elected to the CRD Board in 2012.

In accordance with Provincial legislation, representation on the CRD Board balances varying population bases with community interests. Each local government receives one vote for every 5,000 population and receives one director for every 25,000 population.

Name, Title Municipality or Electoral Area Role Assigned Votes
Barbara Desjardins, Mayor Esquimalt Chair 4
David Howe, Director Southern Gulf Islands Electoral Area Vice-Chair 2
Marianne Alto, Councillor Victoria Director 4
Richard Atwell, Mayor Saanich Director 5
Denise Blackwell, Councillor Langford Director 3
Susan Brice, Councillor Saanich Director 5
Judy Brownoff, Councillor Saanich Director 4
Vic Derman, Councillor Saanich Director 4
Alice Finall, Mayor North Saanich Director 3
Carol Hamilton, Mayor Colwood Director 4
Lisa Helps, Mayor Victoria Director 5
Mike Hicks, Director Juan de Fuca Electoral Area Director 2
Ben Isitt, Councillor Victoria Director 4
Nils Jensen, Mayor Oak Bay Director 4
Rick Kasper, Councillor Sooke Director 3
Wayne McIntyre, Director Salt Spring Island Electoral Area Director 3
Colin Plant, Councillor Saanich Director 4
Steve Price, Mayor Sidney Director 3
John Ranns, Mayor Metchosin Director 1
David Screech, Mayor View Royal Director 2
Lanny Seaton, Councillor Langford Director 3
Ken Williams, Mayor Highlands Director 1
Ryan Windsor, Mayor Central Saanich Director 4
Geoff Young, Councillor Victoria Director 4

The next meeting of the CRD Board will take place on January 13, 2016 at 1:30pm. In the coming weeks, Chair Desjardins will be working with the CRD Directors to gain insight into their areas of interest for the coming term. Work will also commence on establishing standing committees and formalizing committee structures, including appointing committee Chairs and Vice-Chairs, which will be announced on or before the January 13 CRD Board meeting.

In 2015, the CRD Board developed the 2015-2018 CRD strategic priorities which outline the direction and priorities of the new CRD Board. In response to these priorities, CRD Executive introduced corporate strategies and actions in the corporate plan that ensure a delivery of more than 200+ services for the residents throughout the region. Guided by the Board’s strategic priorities and the corporate plan vision, staff developed multi-year service plans designed to ensure we are all working together to serve the public and build a vibrant, livable and sustainable region. These plans will ensure that resources are used efficiently and that services effectively meet the needs of residents, municipalities, electoral areas and First Nations.

As the CRD approaches its 50th anniversary year in 2016, much of the organization’s focus will be on enabling sustainable growth, enhancing community well-being, and developing cost-effective infrastructure while continuing to provide core services throughout the region.


For media inquiries, please contact:
Andy Orr, Senior Manager
CRD Corporate Communications
Tel: 250.360.3229 Cell: 250.216.5492