Capital Regional District Board Announces 2015 Chair

Dec 10, 2014

Victoria, BC- Robert Lapham, Capital Regional District (CRD) Chief Administrative Officer is pleased to announce the 2015 Board of Directors. At their inaugural meeting today, the CRD Board elected their Chair and Vice-Chair.

Oak Bay Mayor Nils Jensen has been elected as the 2015 CRD Board Chair. Mayor Jensen has served on the CRD Board for one previous term and was first elected Oak Bay Mayor in December 2011. He is the former Chair of both the CRD Environmental Services Committee and the Regional Water Supply Commission.     

Southern Gulf Islands Electoral Area Director Dave Howe has been elected as the 2015 CRD Board Vice-Chair. Director Howe was first elected to the CRD Board in 2012.

In accordance with Provincial legislation, representation on the CRD Board balances varying population bases with community interests. Each local government receives one vote for every 5,000 population and receives one director for every 25,000 population.

Name, Title  Municipality or Electoral Area Role Assigned Votes
Nils Jensen, Mayor Oak Bay Chair 4
Dave Howe, Director Southern Gulf Islands Electoral Area Vice- Chair 2
Marianne Alto, Councillor Victoria Director 4
Richard Atwell, Mayor Saanich Director 5
Denise Blackwell, Councillor Langford Director 3
Susan Brice, Councillor Saanich Director 5
Judy Brownoff, Councillor Saanich Director 4
Vic Derman, Councillor Saanich Director 4
Barbara Desjardins, Mayor Esquimalt Director 4
Alice Finall, Mayor North Saanich Director 3
Carol Hamilton, Mayor Colwood Director 4
Lisa Helps, Mayor Victoria Director 5
Mike Hicks, Director Juan de Fuca Electoral Area Director 2
Ben Isitt, Councillor Victoria Director 4
Wayne McIntyre, Director Salt Spring Island Electoral Area Director 3
Colin Plant, Councillor Saanich Director 4
Steve Price, Mayor Sidney Director 3
John Ranns, Mayor Metchosin Director 1
David Screech, Mayor View Royal Director 2
Lanny Seaton, Councillor Langford Director 3
Maja Tait, Mayor Sooke Director 3
Ken Williams, Mayor Highlands Director 1
Ryan Windsor, Mayor Central Saanich Director 4
Geoff Young, Councillor Victoria Director 4

The next meeting of the CRD Board will take place on January 14, 2015 at 1:30 pm. In the coming weeks, Chair Jensen will be reaching out to the new CRD directors to gain insight into their areas of interest for the coming term. Work will also commence on establishing standing committees and formalizing committee structures, including appointing committee Chairs and Vice-Chairs, which will be announced on or before the January 14 CRD Board meeting.

During this time, CRD Chief Administrative Officer Robert Lapham and Senior Management will work closely to support this process, including reviewing previous CRD Board priorities and service delivery plans.

One of the first orders of business the CRD Board will embark on is development of the 2015 - 2018 CRD strategic plan, which will outline the direction and priorities of the new CRD Board for the next four years. Beginning in February, CRD staff will also meet with municipal councils, Electoral Area Directors and CRD appointees to committees and commissions.


The CRD is a local government that delivers 200+ regional, sub-regional and local services for residents of the region which includes 13 municipalities and three electoral areas within 2370 square kilometres on southern Vancouver Island and the Gulf Islands. Governed by a 24 member Board of Directors, the CRD is working to serve the public, and build a vibrant, livable and sustainable region.



For media inquiries, please contact:

Andy Orr, Senior Manager
CRD Corporate Communications
Tel: 250.360.3229
Cell: 250.216.5492