CRD Announces 2010 CRD Ecostar Winners

Jun 02, 2010

Victoria, BC –- On June 1, 2010 the Capital Regional District hosted the 2010 EcoStar Community environmental Awards, which serve to celebrate environmental leaders across the region. Previous year’s winners have shown exemplary social, environmental and community initiative in creating and implementing green programs, practices and projects across the region.

The 2010 EcoStar Awards Ceremony was entirely paperless, featured local food and beverages, and honoured this year’s nine award recipients:

  • Climate Action Award: Sponsored by BC Transit – Truffles Group Inc

  • Climate Action Non-Profit Award: Sponsored by BC Transit – Cindy Moyer for Climate Action West Shore

  • Land Stewardship Award: Sponsored by 103.1 Jack FM – Tsawout Lands Advisory Committee

  • Integrated Watershed Management Award: Sponsored by Golder Associates – District of Central Saanich

  • Water Stewardship Award: Sponsored by BC Hydro – Mary Cooper for Mayne Island Integrated Water Systems Society

  • Waste Reduction Award: Sponsored by reFUSe Resource Recover – Archipelago Marine Research Ltd

  • Waste Reduction Non-Profit Award: Sponsored by reFUSE Resource Recovery – Fairfield Gonzales Community Association

  • Youth Leader Award: Sponsored by Coast Capital Savings – Caleigh Inman

  • Community Environmental Leader Award: Sponsored by the Capital Regional District – Debra Morse (Organic Islands Festival and Sustainability Expo Founder)

“The EcoStar Awards are an invaluable opportunity to celebrate green practices in the region, help educate residents on the importance of sustainable actions and celebrate our region’s top environmental stewards,” said CRD Board Chair Geoff Young.

The award reception also featured the first showing of the CRD’s new Myrecyclopedia online resource ( and a collaborative educational exhibit with Shaw Ocean Discovery Centre on source control and water saving tips.

The 2010 EcoStar Awards are brought to you by Coast Capital Savings and proudly supported by ‘A’ News, Black Press and 98.5 The Ocean, 103.1 Jack FM and the Fairmount Empress. Award sponsors for the event are: BC Hydro, BC Transit, the Capital Regional District, Golder Associates and reFUSE Resource Recovery. Event Sponsors are The City of Victoria, Feys and Hobbes Catered Arts, Geoff Grimes Photography and Monday Magazine.

Additional Information:
EcoStar Winner Backgrounder


For more information please contact:
Andy Orr, Senior Manager, Corporate Communications, CRD
Office: 250.360.3229
Cell: 250.216.5492